3080 Yonge Street, Ste. 6060 Toronto ON, M4N 3N1 | phone (647) 255-8880


menu home about CPC membership faqs publishing trade / consumer higher education intellectual property contact us


Founded in 1910, the Canadian Publishers' Council (CPC) represents the interests of publishing companies that publish books and other media for elementary and secondary schools, colleges and universities, professional and reference markets, the retail and library sectors. Members employ more than 3,000 Canadians and collectively account for nearly three-quarters of all domestic sales of English-language books, and have a significant presence in French-language publishing in Quebec. As importantly, member firms pay over $36 million in royalties to Canada's writers and creators.

The Council represents the Canadian publishing community on the international level in the International Publishers Association (IPA) and is a member of the International Federation of Reprographic Rights Organizations (IFFRO). The CPC also maintains liaison with other Canadian professional publishers' associations, with the Association of American Publishers and the U.K. Publishers Association, as well as with Canadian colleagues in all areas of the literary arts, educational, library and retail communities.

Canadian Publishers' Council



James Reeve, Managing Director
Pearson Education.

Past President:

Craig Swinwood, President & CEO, Harlequin Enterprises Limited

Brad Martin, CEO Penguin Random House (Canada)

V.P., Trade:

Tracey Turriff, Senior Vice-President Random House of Canada

V.P., K-12:

Beverley Buxton, General Manager Pearson School Division


Barry Gallant, Chief Operating Officer Penguin Canada


Executive Director, External Relations

David Swail
Email: dswail@pubcouncil.ca 
Responsible for implementation of agreed policy, external relations and media relations; general government relations activity and management of copyright and intellectual property-related activity including legal considerations and reform of federal statutes. 

Accounting Officer

Joanna Ames 
E-mail: james@pubcouncil.ca 
Responsible for the Council's accounting.




Copyright © 2017 Canadian Publishers' Council All Rights Reserved